Gaston County, North Carolina


(2011 data unless otherwise noted)

Population: 207,031
Race:
White: 158,260
Black: 32,437
Hisp/Latino Origin: 12,616
Other Non-Hispanic: 3,718
Females (15-44): 41,015
Abortion Rate: 6.9 per 1,000

Median Household Income: $43,253
Population below Federal Poverty Line: 16.6
Infant Mortality:
5.1 per 1,000 live births (*)
Teen Pregnancies:
70.0 per 1,000 teens
AIDS Cases: 202
HIV Cases: 32
Syphilis Rate:
1.9 per 100,000
Gonorrhea Rate:
173.2 per 100,000
Chlamydia Rate:
696.3 per 100,000

updated: 5/2013

(*) denotes data that should be used with caution. For example, the State Center for Health Statistics notes that infant mortality rates based on less than 10 deaths are unreliable and should be interpreted with caution. Teen pregnancy rates that are based on fewer than 20 cases are also viewed as unstable.

(†) Rate reports on legal induced abortions per 1,000 females, ages 15-44.

Attention: If you notice any discrepancies on any RICHES pages, (broken links, incorrect information, etc) please contact

Health Department
Gaston County Health Department
991 West Hudson Blvd
Gastonia, NC 28052
(704) 853-5000 (telephone)
(704) -853-5252 (fax)
www.gastonpublichealth.org
Sandee Champion
Public Health Nurse Supervisor
sandee.champion@co.gaston.nc.usGaston
Carrie Meier
Health Education Supervisor
carrie.meier@co.gaston.nc.usGaston
Latoya Smith
HIV Counselor
latoya.smith@co.gaston.nc.usGaston
Leigh Yount
Health Education Coordinator
leigh.yount@co.gaston.nc.usGaston
Brittany Carey
Health Education Coordinator
brittany.carey@co.gaston.nc.usGaston
Diana Willman
Social Worker
diana.willman@co.gaston.nc.usGaston
Sandee Champion
Maternity Clinic Supervisor
Maternity Care
Schampion@co.gaston.nc.us

Free Clinics:
NC Association of Free Clinics
http://www.ncfreeclinics.org

Hospital(s):

Gaston Memorial Hospital
2525 Court Drive
Gastonia, NC 28053
(704) 834-3385 (telephone)
(704) 834-3187 (fax)
www.caromont.org
Dolores Campbell
RNC-OB, CCE of The Birth Place; NICU, Performance Improvement Coordinator
Campbedo@gmh.org

N.C. Health Info - health and medical resources for North Carolinians
http://www.nchealthinfo.org/
Under Go Local, find hospital or other desired service in the drop-down list of services, and below that, find the county or city of choice. After choosing both of these options, click go.

RICHES Contacts:

AVID of Lincoln County
214 East Franklin Blvd.
Gastonia, NC 28052
704-864-7704 (telephone)
(704) 864-0060 (Crisis Line)
(704) 862-0239 (fax)

Crisis Pregnancy Center
800 Robinson Rd.
Gastonia, NC 28056
(704) 867-3706
Ancil Overbey
Director
cpcdir@bellsouth.netGaston
Maheshia Edwards
APP Coordinator
maheshia@cpcgaston.orgGaston

Family Service, Inc.
214 East Franklin Blvd.
Gastonia, NC 28052
(704) 864-7704 (telephone)
(704) 864-0060 (Crisis Line)
(704) 862-0239 (fax)

Shelter Home of Gaston County
330 N. Merietta Street
Gastonia, NC 28052
(704) 810-6492 (telephone)
:(704) -852-6000 (Crisis Line)
www.cpcgaston.com

updated: 5/2013