Halifax County, North Carolina


(2011 data unless otherwise noted)

Population: 54,173
Race:
White: 21,596
Black: 28,905
Hisp/Latino Origin: 1,234
Other Non-Hispanic: 2,438
Females (15-44): 9,549
Abortion Rate: 14.2 per 1,000

Median Household Income: $30,4396.80.0
Infant Mortality:
15.6 per 1,000 live births (*)
Teen Pregnancies:
75.0 per 1,000 teens
AIDS Cases: 76
HIV Cases: 14
Syphilis Rate:
5.5 per 100,000
Gonorrhea Rate:
265.1 per 100,000
Chlamydia Rate:
676.5 per 100,000

updated: 5/2013

(*) denotes data that should be used with caution. For example, the State Center for Health Statistics notes that infant mortality rates based on less than 10 deaths are unreliable and should be interpreted with caution. Teen pregnancy rates that are based on fewer than 20 cases are also viewed as unstable.

(†) Rate reports on legal induced abortions per 1,000 females, ages 15-44.

Attention: If you notice any discrepancies on any RICHES pages, (broken links, incorrect information, etc) please contact

Health Department
Halifax County Health Department
19 North Dobbs Street
Halifax, NC 27839
(252) 583-5021
www. halifaxnc.com/healthdept.cfm
Doris Taylor
Community Social Service Technician
taylord@halifaxnc.com

Free Clinics:
NC Association of Free Clinics
http://www.ncfreeclinics.org

Hospital(s):
NC Health Info – health and medical resources for North Carolinians
http://www.nchealthinfo.org/
Under Go Local, find hospital or other desired service in the drop-down list of services, and below that, find the county or city of choice. After choosing both of these options, click go.

RICHES Contacts:

Agape Healthcare Systems
1015 Roanoke Avenue
Roanoke Rapids, NC 27870
(252) 537-2473 (telephone)
1-888-315-1326 (fax)
www.agapehs.vpweb.com
Ms. Holt
Executive Director
ahssvcs@yahoo.com

Area Wide Health Committee
PO Box 61
Tillery, NC 27887
(252) 826-3017 (telephone)
(252) 826- 3244 (fax)
www.cct78.org/index.html
Doris Davis
Director
awhc1@aol.com

Cooperative Extension of Halifax County
359 Ferrell Lane, Halifax, NC 27839
PO Box 37, Halifax, NC 27839
(252) 583-5161 (telephone)
(252) 583-1683 (fax)
http://halifax.ces.ncsu.edu/
Danisha White
EFNEP Adult Program
danisha_white@ncsu.edu
Mary Davis
Nutrition Program Assistant, EFNEP
mary_davis@ncsu.edu

Division of Vocational Rehabilitation Services
P.O. Drawer 940
615 Julian R. Allsbrook
Roanoke Rapids, NC 27870
(252) 537-1126 (telephone)
(252) 537-2969 (fax)
www.ncdhhs.gov/dvrs
Juanita Woodley
Processing Assistant IV
juanita.woodley@dhhs.nc.gov

Halifax Regional Medical Center
250 Smith Church Rd.
Roanoke Rapids, NC 27870
252-535-8701 (telephone)
252-535-8234 (fax)
www.halifaxmedicalcenter.org/
Amy Joseph
Birthing Center Manager
ajoseph@halifaxrmc.org
(252) 535-8701 (direct)

Haliwa-Saponi Indian Tribe
P.O. Box 99
Holister, NC 27844
(252) 586-4017 (telephone)
(252) 586-3918 (fax)
www.haliwa-saponi.com
Valerie West
Outreach Coordinator
vwest@haliwa-saponi.com

Halifax-Warren Partnership for Children
P.O. Box 339
1139 Roanoke Avenue
Roanoke Rapids, NC 28770
(252) 537-5621 (telephone)
(252) 537-9732 (fax)
www.hwss.org
Madga Baligh
Executive Director
mbaligh@hwss.org

Hannah's Place/ Roanoke Valley Rape Crisis
(Domestic Violence, Sexual Assault Services)
130 Penmarc Drive, Suite 101
Raleigh, NC 27603
(919) 831-2857 (telephone)
(919) 831-0824 (fax)
www.nc-van.org
Jessie Sterner
Hispanic Outreach Coordinator/Crime Victim Assistance
jessie@nc-van.org
Elizabeth Watson
Interim Executive Director/Crime Victim Assistance Grant
elizabeth@nc-van.org

Hannah's Place/ Roanoke Valley Rape Crisis
(Domestic Violence, Sexual Assault Services)
P.O. Box 1392
Littleton, NC 27870
(252) 541-2037 (telephone)
www.nc-van.org
Clara Debnam
Shelter Specialist/ Volunteer Coordinator
cddebnam@yahoo.com
Clarine Jones
Case Manager
clarinejones@ymail.com

Twin County Rural Health Centers
2026 Hwy. 125
Roanoke Rapids, NC 27870
(252) 536-5440 (telephone)
Kesha Rook
Supervisor
kesha.rooks@rhgnc.org

Women of Excellence Female Mentoring Group
P.O. Box 209
Weldon, NC 27890
(252) 536-2551 (telephone)
(252) 536-4049 (fax)
Sherida Gholston
Director of Student Support Services
gholstons@halifaxcc.edu

updated: 5/2013